Wednesday, March 18, 2009

That other Corbin

Mr. Charles Corbin was today, March 17, 2009, sworn in by President Bharrat Jagdeo at the Office of the President as a member of the Guyana Elections Commission, (GECOM) replacing the late Mr. Lloyd Joseph. Mr. Corbin was identified to fill the vacancy after a process of meaningful consultation between the Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Robert H. O. Corbin and the leaders of the Parliamentary Opposition Parties. With the appointment of Mr. Corbin the commission now has its full complement of members, that is, three (3) representing the Government and three (3) representing the Parliamentary Opposition Parties.

Witnessing this ceremony were Members of Parliament, Ms. Amna Ally, Ms. Cheryl Sampson and Mr. Dave Danny; Co-chairman of the Local Government Task Force, Mr. Alan Munroe, Commissioner of GECOM, Mr. Robert Williams, Chairman of GECOM, Dr. Steve Surujbally, Chief Election Officer, Mr. Gocool Boodhoo, Government Ministers, Mr. Manzoor Nadir and Mr. Maniram Prashad and President of the Guyana Olympic Association, Mr. Juman Yasin, Attorney-at-Law.

Mr. Charles Corbin brings substantial experience and expertise to his post. He has a BA in Sociology from Colombia University and an MA in Organisational Psychology from the same university. Mr. Corbin also has a Certificate in Political Economy from Academia Stefan Gheorghi Bucharest, Romania and a Diploma in Co-op Management and Administration from the Kuru Kuru Co-op College . He is also a consultant on computer technology.

Mr. Corbin will take up his post at the next meeting of GECOM.

No comments:

Post a Comment